x
Yes No
Do you want to visit DriveHQ English website?
Forum Index \ Cloud Service Review \
Read/Reply : 32145/3

hmmm, not many people here, I guess I can make myself famous by saying something now :)

I've been using DriveHQ storage service for several months, and generally like the service. I have tried other services before, so below is my two cents about why I choose DriveHQ.

Most people have focused too much on the amount of free storage. This is a big mistake. Unfortunately, even some experts also made such mistakes, incl. PC Magazines (and myself, initially...), etc.

Online storage is very different from hard disks. All hard disks are essentially the same. However, online storage services are very different. For example:

• some people feel Gmail is online storage; in reality, it is not. Gmail is email, just like Outlook is not storage, it doesn't have a real file/folder concept, and the attachment file size is generally limited to less than 10MB.
  • Yahoo's briefcase has been around for a long time, but it's just plainly not very usable.
  • XDrive used to be the largest one (and the best?), but the service has degraded a lot over the years, and it is getting worse after AOL acquired it; of course AOL always does stupid things.
  • Box.net and streamload.com don't have good client software, very hard to upload / download many files.
  • FilesAnywhere has some good stuff only if you like their UI.

Clearly it doesn't make sense to just compare amount of free storage. E.g. both DriveHQ and Box.net offers 1GB free storage. However, I choose DriveHQ because DriveHQ has way more features than Box.net. DriveHQ FileManager and WWWBackup are awesome. Box.net also claims to offer backup service, but that's misleading -- without an automatic backup tool, it is not a real backup, it's just upload, or storage.